An Image from the January light painting workshop…

Hi everyone! Things have been hopping at the studio, and I haven’t had much time to do a post. We just finished a group workshop this past weekend, which went very well. It was a great group, and Roman and I had a lot of fun while teaching the intricacies and benefits of light painting the still life. The group was made up of people from Boston and Atlanta, as well as some relatively local photographers. I’ll be posting a grouping of the images created by the students, but in the meantime, I thought I would share the image I created as a demonstration to the group at the beginning of the workshop. My friend and fellow photographer, John Corcoran, recently gave me these great old boxes.

Photographer Harold Ross's still life created with light painting as part of his Light Painting the Still Life photography workshop.Photograph by Harold Ross

~ by Harold Ross on January 25, 2012.

2 Responses to “An Image from the January light painting workshop…”

  1. Pure class! Love the lighting in general but especially what you’ve done with the oranges and the ‘Airship’ label.

  2. Thank you, John! I always struggle a bit with these “demo” images, as I have to create the set, shoot it and do the post production, all with an audience. There is a time crunch too, as I don’t want to steal time away from hands-on part of the workshop. I’m always surprised when one of these images turns out at all!

Leave a Reply

