Talk at Fair Hill Photography Group

This past Saturday, I had the pleasure of giving a talk and light painting demonstration to the Fair Hill (Maryland) photography group. It was a small  group of roughly 18 people, and a very enthusiastic one at that!

Everyone there seemed to be genuinely interested in light painting, and the questions asked during the talk were very good ones. I enjoyed talking with everyone I met there!

A special thanks to the host, Parsh Mehta, for opening his home for the talk, and for making me a terrific breakfast beforehand, shared with good friends Gerry Meekins and Walt Johnson.

After my lecture on lighting theory and a slideshow of my work, I demonstrated the light painting technique on a still life that I created from several of my scrapyard treasures that I brought along. In these demonstrations, I light paint the image with several captures and then easily blend them together in Photoshop for the final light painted image. The entire program is projected, so everyone can see what is happening.

Here is the photograph that I created for the group:

Photographer Harold Ross's Light Painting Still Life Image

Photo by Harold Ross

~ by Harold Ross on January 14, 2013.

4 Responses to “Talk at Fair Hill Photography Group”

  1. Absolutely great work as ever Harold, real pleasure to look through all of your posts. Kind regards, Roberto

  2. Thank you, Roberto!

  3. thanks Harold , loved the demo, hope we can set up a workshop with our group sometime,

Leave a Reply

