Landscape sculptures by Sean Smith

Recently, I decided to shoot a couple of sculptural pieces by a friend, Sean Smith. Sean is a landscape artist, and does some amazing work with stone for clients. He also makes some very interesting standalone pieces, and since I’m a big Andy Goldsworthy fan, and I love to make welded sculpture myself, I was really excited to photograph Sean’s work.

We did both shots in one night, and of course, they were light painted. I used mainly a small hand held LED panel. Below you’ll see a before and after of each.

Photograph by Harold Ross, Sculpture by Sean Smith

Sculpture by Sean Smith, Photograph by Harold Ross

Photograph by Harold Ross, Sculpture by Sean Smith

“Before”

Photograph by Harold Ross, Sculpture by Sean Smith

Sculpture by Sean Smith, Photograph by Harold Ross

Since we couldn’t register the waning daylight on the second image (It was already dark!), we had to use a fill light to fill in the shadows. The “before” image below is shot with just that fill light.

Photograph by Harold Ross, Sculpture by Sean Smith“Before”

Stay tuned… In a few days I’ll post the last two images (recently completed) from the Biltmore series!

~ by Harold Ross on September 24, 2015.

3 Responses to “Landscape sculptures by Sean Smith”

  1. BEAUTIFUL!! But I wasn’t surprised. I expected as much. Looking forward to the Biltmore photos.

    Doug

  2. Great work on both images. I have a question about the second image of just the rocks with the tree in the background. at the base of the rocks in the “before” image, there is no spiderweb. But, in the “after” image, there is a spider web with leaves etc.. Was this added in post processing?

    • Good question, Kevin! You are quite observant. We actually cleaned the spiderwebs off of the rocks halfway through the shooting and shot it both ways. Because I always shoot the fill light image at the end, the spiderwebs were gone. When putting the image together, I decided that I liked the captures with the spiderwebs. It was poor planning on my part. I should have made a fill light image both with and without!

Leave a Reply

 
