Talk and Light Painting demonstration at RAL

Yesterday, I travelled to Lewes, Delaware to give a talk and demonstration on “light painting the still life”. I was invited by Jay Pastore, Director of Exhibitions at the Rehoboth Art League, and gave the presentation at their facility, which is attached to one of their galleries. The talk was one of three “Meet the Artist” lectures connected with the photography exhibition FADING, which was curated by Jay. The show runs until November 29th at the RAL gallery on Rt.9 in Lewes, Delaware and features the work of Jeffrey Steen, Kendall Messick and myself.

I always enjoy these talks, as I love challenges, and creating an image under time pressure and in front of an audience is very rewarding.

The audience was fantastic; they were engaged and curious. We had a few laughs too!

In the spirit of autumn, I composed a still life with a gourd and some beautiful pears, a stalk of seed pods, and a beautiful maple leaf.

I will include a “before” version and of course, the light painted version of the image created at the talk. By comparing them, you can get a sense for just how transformative this process is. Make sure to click on the images for a larger view!

Here is the”before” version of the still life with normal lighting:


Here is the same image after using my light painting process:


If you are interested in learning my techniques in an intensive and fun workshop environment, click HERE!


~ by Harold Ross on November 22, 2015.

One Response to “Talk and Light Painting demonstration at RAL”

  1. I think some of us would struggle to get the Before version! I bet the audience was truly wow-ed, I would be! Excellent work, as usual.

Leave a Reply

