ANNOUNCEMENT: July 2016 Light Painting Workshop


Photographer Harold Ross' Light Painted Still Life with Postage Scale and Scissors

Photograph by Harold Ross

We have decided on dates for our July workshop!

Our next Light Painting the Still Life Workshop, which will be held here at my home studio (in beautiful Lancaster County, PA) is scheduled for:

~July 15th, 16th, and 17th, 2016


If you are interested, please don’t hesitate to sign up. If a particular workshop fills, you can be placed on a wait list.

We are also holding group workshops on the following dates:


~ April 22nd, 23rd, 24th 2016 ** One opening remains **

~ May 13th, 14th, 15th, 2016 ** This workshop is filled **

~ June 17th, 18th, 19th, 2016 **Due to a cancellation, there is now one opening**

~ July 15th, 16th, 17th, 2016 **Two openings remain**


Registration is now open, and the workshop is limited to 4 students.

We will be announcing more shortly!

To sign up please contact us at 717-923-0269 or via email at

Click HERE for the schedule and details of the workshop.

My workshops involve real teaching of the methods I employ, and this is a technical and intensive workshop… you will be given the training needed to produce work at a very high level. You will be receiving personal, detailed hands-on (literally!) instruction on proper light painting (not light pointing), and my post production process. You will actually learn the subtleties of lighting, using simple and inexpensive lighting tools, and the nuances of using layers and masking in Photoshop to create powerful images! The techniques you will be learning are simply not taught anywhere else.

I’ve been using light painting as my main method of lighting for 26 years.

My co-instructor, John Corcoran, will be bringing a lot of experience to the workshop. He has worked as a professional photographer for over 35 years, and has been light painting for over 20 of those years.

He shoots wonderful floral images and portraits, all using light painting. You can see some of John’s images HERE.


“I know as a flight instructor that there is a big difference between being able to do something well and being able to teach that thing well. You are a very very good teacher, and I can’t complement you enough on your workshop’s organization, thoroughness and attention to detail, as well as your own clarity of explanation, patience, and attentiveness to your students’ level of understanding and need for support. Your workshop was an absolutely wonderful experience, and I will risk some hyperbole by saying that for me personally as a photographer, it was trans-formative. Furthermore, you and Vera are outstanding hosts and made me feel exceptionally welcome in your home. Vera provided seamless support and way too much candy. John was an excellent co-instructor, and I hope you will convey my complements to him – he also has great bedside manner and a really effective, low-key manner. He was great to work with. Thank you.”
Henry “Fax” Ayres, Virginia, Group Workshop

“Your class Rocked… Your attention to detail and the quality of your product/art is so far above the average that it places your work in a higher realm.  It was a real pleasure being in your studio, seeing you work and being able to see light in a different way.”
Joe Carr, South Carolina, Group Workshop

“I have to say, that you folks put on a stellar workshop. It was well organized, and we as students were well taken care of. The information was tremendous! I feel like I now have a set of tools that I can use to pursue my craft well into the future and actually achieve the results that I’m after. Harold and John’s teaching style worked very well for me. I now have to live up to the standard that has been set! I think the thing that excites me the most about learning this technique is that it will allow me to be a painter and a photographer at the same time. It was so worth the cost!”
– Kirk Deese, Virginia, Group Workshop


~ by Harold Ross on March 5, 2016.

2 Responses to “ANNOUNCEMENT: July 2016 Light Painting Workshop”

  1. Hello Harold,

    I would like to sign up for a workshop spot on July 15-17, 2016.

    I’m from the west coast and have never been to your area before. Can you suggest some places I might visit for photography before or after the workshop? My photographic interests include street, travel and people photography.


    Dennis Ducklow Langley, British Columbia.


    • Hi Dennis,

      Thanks for inquiring about the July workshop! We’ve sent you an email, and have included some answers to your questions, so keep an eye out for it! :-)

Leave a Reply

