A fun evening at Berks County PhotoCon!

Last night I gave a presentation to a terrific group of photographers at the 2016 Berks Photographic Conference. The organization has been putting on this conference for almost 60 years!

The turnout was great, and the attendees were engaged and very interested! There were some familiar faces in the audience, and I had a fantastic time.

The presentation, lasting 3 hours, covered the basics of lighting theory as it applies to Light Painting, the tools involved, and some samples of my work.

Then came the fun part! In front of the audience, I photographed a still life (using light painting), and then I assembled the image in Photoshop using my simple approach to layers and masking.

Here is the resulting image (make sure to click on the image to see a larger view):

Light Painted Image "Still Life with Copper Pot" by photographer Harold Ross

Photograph by Harold Ross

If you would like to learn my process (and many more things) we do have 2 seats open for for both our July and August workshops here in beautiful Lancaster County, PA. Information can be found HERE.

~ by Harold Ross on June 11, 2016.

6 Responses to “A fun evening at Berks County PhotoCon!”

  1. Gorgeous image!

  2. Hi, I stumbled across your blog and website, while looking for enlightenment and inspiration for my own Still Life images. I am in love with this style. I myself also enjoy light painting but on a completely different level and the thought of combining light painting and and still life was a light bulb moment for me. I thank you. I would love to feature some of your work on my blog.

Leave a Reply

