ANNOUNCEMENT: Spring 2017 Light Painting Workshops Dates!

 

Photographer Harold Ross' Still Life With Teapot And TablePhotograph by Harold Ross

We have just decided on weekend workshop dates for 2017!

Our next Light Painting the Still Life Workshops, which will be held here at my home studio (in beautiful Lancaster County, PA) are scheduled for:

~ March 3rd, 4th, and 5th, 2017

~ March 31st, April 1st, and April 2nd, 2017

~ April 28th, 29th, and 30th, 2017

~ May 19th, 20th, and 21st, 2017

Registration is now open, and each workshop is limited to 4 students.

To sign up please contact us at 717-923-0269 or via email at harold@rossstudio.com

Click HERE for the schedule and details of the workshop.

My workshops involve real teaching of the methods I employ, and this is a technical and intensive workshop… you will be given the training needed to produce work at a very high level. You will be receiving personal, detailed hands-on (literally!) instruction on proper light painting (not light pointing), and my post production process. You will actually learn the subtleties of lighting, using simple and inexpensive lighting tools, and the nuances of using layers and masking in Photoshop to create powerful images!

I’ve been using light painting as my main method of lighting for 27 years.

I can only begin to list the other things we cover in the workshop; Visual accommodation (very important!), proper sharpening, lens choice for studio work, diffraction and why it happens, preparing an image for print, and lots more.

My co-instructor, John Corcoran, will be bringing a lot of experience to the workshop. He has worked as a professional photographer for over 35 years, and has been light painting for over 25 of those years. John will be present when the workshop is filled.

He shoots wonderful floral images and portraits, all using light painting. You can see some of John’s images HERE.

You can see my students’ images in my Student Workshop Images page.

“I have been a professional photographer for the last 38 years, working in Los Angeles, and for the last 15 years in Santa Barbara, California.  I have always wanted to learn light sculpting but never seemed to have the time.  Well, I’m glad I waited to find Harold Ross!  His expertise and quality instruction has opened my eyes to a new and wonderful way to express my creativity in photography.  My expertise is lighting, and I have met very few photographers I admire more than Harold for lighting, amazing.  His quality and attention to every detail is second to none.  The personal attention I got from such a small class gave me a deep understanding of the ideas behind the procedures.  It enabled me to have a fuller experience and benefit from Harold’s personal touch and guidance.  I highly recommend this workshop to anyone who wants to take their photography in a very different direction than the rest of the photographic crowd.  Harold Ross is a craftsman, which there are very few left in our profession.”
– Richard Salas, California, Group Workshop

~ by Harold Ross on October 25, 2016.

One Response to “ANNOUNCEMENT: Spring 2017 Light Painting Workshops Dates!”

  1. Beautiful still life Harold…..I would love a print!  All the best, Aaron

Leave a Reply

 
