Images shot at the National Watch and Clock Museum

As always, if you’re viewing this in an email, please click the title of this post to see the blog, which offers a better viewing experience.

 

A few months ago, I made three photographs at the National Watch and Clock Museum for their exhibition “The Art of Time”. The exhibition will be up until January of 2018. Please stop in to see the show, and the incredible collection at the Museum.

Since the show just opened a few days ago, I can now share the images here!

The collection is HUGE; it is the largest private collection of timepieces in North America, and it is amazing, and a bit overwhelming!

I had to narrow down this collection to three subjects, and this was not easy.

A big thanks to Kim Jovinelli, Curator of Collections, who took the time to show me around the museum, and who pointed out many of the more interesting clocks (also not an easy task!).

I was drawn to three pieces; a Japanese clock, circa 1900, a German Chamber Clock, circa 1625, and an Iron Plate Tall Clock Movement, by Rogers and Son of Maine, circa 1805.

Here’s a snapshot Vera did as I was getting ready to shoot:

Photographer Harold Ross prepares to Light Paint in the National Watch and Clock Museum

 

Vera (my faithful assistant and wife) shot this quick (and a bit shaky) video on the fly :

 

The finished image of the Chamber Clock, circa 1625:

Light Painted photograph of a German Chamber Clock circa 1625, by photographer Harold Ross

Photograph by Harold Ross

As always, I shoot tethered using Capture One:

Light Painting photographer Harold Ross checking his captures using Capture One software

The Rogers and Son Tall Clock Movement, Maine, circa 1805:

Light Painted photograph of the Iron Plate Tall Clock Movement, by Rogers and Son of Maine, circa 1805, by photographer Harold Ross

Photograph by Harold Ross

And the Japanese Clock, circa 1900:

Light Painted photograph of a Japanese Clock, circa 1900, by photographer Harold Ross

Photograph by Harold Ross

 

I hope to shoot more at the National Watch and Clock Museum, and there are some other projects that I am currently working on (and very excited about), so please stay tuned!

~ by Harold Ross on May 15, 2017.

26 Responses to “Images shot at the National Watch and Clock Museum”

  1. Superb work as usual, Harold.

  2. Harold As always amazingly inspiring work

    Donald Crais

    >

  3. Just Fantastic sir…which camera u used for these shots?

    • Thank you, Praveen. I get this question often, and my answer is always the same… The camera does not matter. I don’t mean to be evasive, but the camera is the least important part of the Photography process, in my opinion. One can make photographs like this with any camera, as long as it is capable of long exposures. It is all about the light.:-)

  4. Superb work as usual, from a masters hand.Keep up your professional work Harold.

  5. Amazing work! As always. Love every photo you make!

  6. Beautiful Images Harold. Most of the studio work I did at Bendix Aero in the 60’s was painting with light. Detail, Detail and Detail.
    Donald Ross Hill
    donrosshill@gmail.com

  7. Wow! Very cool.
    Thanks for sharing this Harold.

  8. Beautiful clocks (espacially the German one ;-) ! And of course great photography. I think your lighting technique the best to bring out all the details and the beauty of these masterpieces of handcraft.

  9. Hello Harold,

    I just comment your work on the blog. Very nice! But as I looked at the video, the shot of Vera and your picture I noticed the totaly different Backgrounds. How does this work? Photoshop?

    Many regards

    Jo Becker

    >

    • Thank you Jo! Yes, unfortunately I could not touch or move the clocks; therefore, the plain beige backgrounds needed a change, which I did in Photoshop! 😁

  10. Just beautiful, Harold!

    Regards,

    Jake

  11. Harold, By nature, I am not drawn to “old stuff” but your images always suck me in and make me really see and appreciate in a new way. Deb

    http://www.debehrens.com

    >

  12. Although not a photography enthusiast, I thoroughly enjoy these posts, and not just because I know you and Vera. Your photos are truly art and I just wanted to thank you for including me on your email list. Maureen and I both enjoyed seeing these beautiful photos.

    Doug & Maureen

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  13. That’s awesome

Leave a Reply

 
