The LensWork Guillotine Paper Cutter

A month ago, Vera and I travelled to Anacortes, WA. to visit with a group of friends. We had a great time with Hunter Witherill and his wife Tracy, David Grant Best, and Brooks and Maureen Jensen, publishers of LensWork Magazine.

(Speaking of LensWork, I’m honored to be one of the featured photographers in the upcoming November/December issue. If you wish, you can subscribe or purchase a tablet or computer single edition HERE )

The northwest part of the country is just gorgeous; Anacortes is on Fidalgo Island, and so there is a lot of wildlife to see. From the shore, we saw seals, Orca whales, and lots of waterfowl. In the forests are huge spruce, fir and pine tress and surprisingly (to me), Spanish moss! We very much enjoyed exploring the area, but even though our little group was made up of photographers, this was not a “photography” trip. (Thank goodness I can always rely on Vera to create a visual record of our travels!)

David Grant Best and me on the ferry to Friday Harbor, San Juan Islands:

David G. Best and Harold Ross on the ferry to the San Juan Islands

Here I’m photographing the coastline and longing for my old 8×10 camera:

Harold Ross photographing along the shoreline

Vera shot this “quiet” picture of sand on the beach:

Vera's shot of the sand

Spanish Moss (in the northwest!):

Washington Spanish Moss by Vera

The “Weston” tree:

Weston tree

Now, on to the (unplanned) light painting! While in the LensWork offices, I saw their AWESOME guillotine paper cutter! I love old machinery, and especially ones made of cast iron. There is something about the weight of it, both actual and visual, that harks back to a time when things were made to last. The old machines were designed with form as well as function in mind, and when looking at them, you can just imagine the hundreds of hands that operated these beautiful machines.

Here, (L to R) Tracy, Hunter, David, Me and Brooks are discussing the process of light painting the paper cutter.

Before the light painting demo with Harold Ross and friends

Since I wasn’t planning on doing any light painting on our trip, I only had my Panasonic Lumix G7 camera with me. I did, however, at the last minute, throw a flashlight and my diffusers, along with a hand held LED panel, into my camera bag. The entire lighting kit literally fits (almost) into one hand!

Brooks lent me a great old and heavy tripod (it was a funny sight to see my little mirrorless camera sitting on the enormous tripod!) and I was ready to light paint the cutter. This awesome machine will cut 4 inches of paper in one fell swoop, and Brooks demonstrated this for us. Make sure to click on the picture for a larger view of this gorgeous machine!

The LensWork Guillotine Paper Cutter:

Photographer Harold Ross' light painted image of the LensWork Guillotine Cutter

Photograph by Harold Ross

~ by Harold Ross on November 5, 2015.

2 Responses to “The LensWork Guillotine Paper Cutter”

  1. I love Vera’s “quiet” picture! And the light painting with the flashlight was amazing.

  2. Excellent as always from a masters hand *****+

Leave a Reply

